BudgetTastic Still Wants To Buy A House (and be MF!)

BudgetTastic
BudgetTastic Posts: 56 Forumite
edited 22 November 2014 at 12:56PM in Mortgage-free wannabe
Hi everyone, I haven't posted for ages and I kind of ditched my old 'saving for a house deposit' thread unexpectedly. Life got a little bit crazy and plans changed. I have moved out of my parents place and I am now renting on my own. I got a transfer with my job and I was promoted at the same time. So a lot of my money was spent on getting myself moved out and re-situated, purchasing furniture and household stuff, etc. etc.

Anyway, enough about that.

A bit about myself - I am an (almost) 21 year old gal. Currently single. I work in banking, part time (4 days per week) and my plan is to begin studying a Bachelor of Commerce (majoring in Finance) next year and use my one weekday off as my official study day, as well as weekends. I'm not 100% sure on an exact career path yet (is anyone?) but I know that some time in the near of far future I will get to a point where I will need a degree to progress further. I have only recently finished my training for my new role so I am facing a very steep learning curve at the moment. It is very challenging, but I know that it will pay off soon.

So my new plan is to purchase a small flat or unit type thing. Hopefully for under $200k, but who knows what the housing market will be like by the time I am ready to buy. Ultimately I would like to get my own place in 2 years or so. Hopefully within 18 months if I really get crackalackin'.

My work offers a staff benefit where you are able to take out a mortgage without Lender's Mortgage Insurance with only a 10% deposit, rather than the usual 20%. I will be taking full advantage of this, so my savings goal is $20-$25k, or hopefully less if I can find a cheaper place.

So here is my budget:

(Monthly)

Income: $2528

Rent: $720
Electricity: $100?
Phone/Internet: $139
Food/Household: $400
Contents Insurance: $20
Health Insurance $60