Council assumes income question

Options
Hi,
I have been asked by the council to complete a self employment for my current H/B form and they said that they are going to calculate my income as 35 hrs p/week at min wage, whereas in reality I am a sole trader with zero hour contract & no idea what I am going to earn from one week to the next and I don't even work 35 hours per week either.

I earn way below what their assumption is,:( yet they are going to use this calculation for any future decision, doesn't seem right to me.

Shane

Comments

• Ames
    Ames Posts: 18,459 Forumite
    Options
    Is this decision after returning the form about your self employment?
    Unless I say otherwise 'you' means the general you not you specifically.
  • Icequeen99
    Icequeen99 Posts: 3,775 Forumite
    Options
    Genuine sole traders don't have a zero hours contract - are you sure you are self-employed? There is a calculator on the HMRC website where you can check.

Lots of councils are doing this to follow the Universal Credit rules.

IQ
  • Here_Comes_The_Judge
    Options
    The only people who don't like UC appear to be those whose Gravy Train is about to hit the buffers.
  • shagzdan
    Options
    The only people who don't like UC appear to be those whose Gravy Train is about to hit the buffers.

Lots of hate on this site, so hope you all have a nice day!:p

I don't claim UC but my business has been going for 3 years fairly steady but I am below the assumed threshold (which is a possibility)

We don't all work 35 hrs per week is my point, it is only a slight discount for my HB as I do not own my own house.
  • shagzdan
    Options
    Icequeen99 wrote: »
    Genuine sole traders don't have a zero hours contract - are you sure you are self-employed? There is a calculator on the HMRC website where you can check.

Lots of councils are doing this to follow the Universal Credit rules.

IQ