Debt Advise

Hi

I am in need of some guidance as I am coming to my wits end with my debt. I have the following debt outstanding and need to know best way forward in clearing it. I have a 2K pay out pending so this will help in clearing some of it.

My CC currently stands at 1515.00
My loan can be cleared at 1100.00 (or continue to pay £43 a month for couple more years)
I also am now into my overdraft another £200

My income is Salary £1600
Rent/bills/Food/Travel is est £1200 a month ( this will change Feb 2015 when I move from current house to cheaper accommodation)

With no savings I am living month to month and this is now taking it's toll on me day to day and my relationship.

If anyone can offer some advise I would very much appreciate it.

Comments

• twiggy86
    twiggy86 Posts: 2,137
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    Hi

I'm new to this debt busting malarkey but have picked up the following advice from the boards:-
    1. Do a statement of affairs - I'm sure someone will post a link. I'll be honest in that I haven't done one of these yet but it helps you see where EXACTLY your money is going each month. If you post it people will then advise areas to try and cut back or where you should allocate money i.e. cut your mobile bills, have you accounted for hair cuts, car maintenance etc

2. Do a "snowball" - if you search google it should come up. It advices of the best way to prioritise your debts based on the interest on them, although if I'm correct your pay out will almost clear them? However this isn't always about paying debts off but also having money allocated for expenses (e.g. car/home insurance) when they occur rather than then having to rely on CCs

3. Start a diary on the DFW Diaries thread - I'm finding its very good to keep you on track and people are very supportive