Scottish Amicable mortgage protection PPI ?

Sorry I'm new to all this, I took out a mortgage protection plan with Scottish Amicable back in 2001, it was very heavily sold to us and we were pushed in to it by a financial planning company, it was very expensive (£60 a month for a £30000 Mortgage) and we couldn't afford it so we only paid in to it for a few months, my question is would it be worth trying to claim this back as it was only paid for a few months and its over 10 years ago so i doubt they will still have records ?

Any help or pointers much appreciated.
Thankyou

Comments

• magpiecottage
    magpiecottage Posts: 9,241 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Scottish Amicable is a life assurance company, not a PPI provider.

So this seems to be a life assurance policy, possibly with Critical Illness cover.

Unless there was an investment element involved, such a policy would not have been regulated at the time of the sale and, since it was not actually sold by an employee of a mortgage lender or insurance company, FOS would have no jurisdiction.

In addition, it is unlikely that, after 11 years, any evidence survives.
  • Hi,
    I was sold a Scottish Amicable endowment policy in 1998. We were heavily pushed to take Critical Illness Cover protection with this which I am continuing to pay. Can you advise if there is any recourse or grounds to pursue a claim in terms of this being misold this?. Advice appears contradictory re: time limits and regulation around time of policy being sold.

Thanks
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,342 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Can you advise if there is any recourse or grounds to pursue a claim in terms of this being misold this?

It is pre-regulation. It isnt PPI and nothing you have said indicates any mis-sale. So, the answer would be no.