SH's attempt to make it to September with as little debt as possible!

Hi everyone!

I'm a final year university student who will be starting a graduate job in September. My university *crazily* does not let us undertake paid employment alongside our degree. Nevertheless, I have an income of £212 from a rental property each month.

The issue is that I only have that income and my student loan to survive on. My monthly rent comes up to £500 a month so it is likely that by the summer I will be losing money each month.

The plan is to start really watching the pennies so that I minimise the debt I'll be in by the time I start my job and to *hopefully* reach September with a neutral bank balance. :A

I hope you will all keep me accountable and will offer me some hints and tips along my journey :) :j

Comments

• Okay... so a bit of a breakdown of my incomings and outgoings between now and June:

Incomings:
    £212 a month x4 (rental income)
    £1998 on 23rd April (student loan)
    Total: £2846
    Monthly average: £711.50

Outgoings:
    - £500 a month x 4 (rent and bills)
    - £35 a week x 17 (food)
    Total: £2595
    Monthly average: £648.75

That leaves me with £251 to live off of during July and August if I purchase nothing except for food each week. :eek:

Hopefully I'll be able to make a little bit of money eb&ying and also get a summer job.
  • You have between now and July though to store some money away. Can you give some of the student loan in April to someone you trust and then they give it to you when you break up for the Summer? Or a percentage of that lump sum?
    Congratulations on getting a job secured before the end of your degree, don't blow your good work now by frittering away money on a 6 month celebration before the 'real' work starts!
    Savings as of April 2023 Savings account - £26460.50(14474.88)Current account - £2140.24(4576.79)Total - £28600.74(19051.67) £1010 (£65pm CS/BS) £250 CS/BS/JS
  • ceb1995
    ceb1995 Posts: 388 Forumite