HSBC being ridiculous - what can I do about it?

Hi,

Will try and keep this short!

I was a student between 1993 and 1997 and had an HSBC account which was overdrawn by around £1000 when I left. I used it for a while after but then stopped using it and consistently repaid amounts every month that were more than the initerest they charged to make sure the balance was coming down.

Fast forward to now and I get a demand letter for the full balance (about £600). I phoned them in June to give them my income/outgoing figures and they agreed to let me pay £20 a month and freeze the interest. All fine, but now they have started charging interest again. I have never missed a payment towards the balance. Today I phoned them again to give them my income figures (virtually the same as before) but now they are refusing to agree formally to let me pay £20 per month as they think I can only pay £8 per month. If I don't clear the balance in 30 days it will be referred to a collection agency which will trash my credit rating.

Can't get my head round the fact that they do not want me to pay more than they say I can afford! Seems very unfair of them to trash my rating through no fault of my own.

Do you have any advice on the next steps I can take to sort this out?

Many thanks

Geraint
In deep...

Comments

• CAB_Swansea_Bay_representative
    CAB_Swansea_Bay_representative Posts: 287 Organisation Representative
    Hi mwddrwg, thank you for your query regarding HSBC