'Do you support Wednesday's strike?' poll

Former_MSE_Penelope
Former_MSE_Penelope Posts: 536 Forumite
edited 28 November 2011 at 1:50PM in MoneySaving polls
Poll started 22 November 2011, click here to vote

Do you support Wednesday's strike?

On Wednesday, 23 public sector unions will strike over changes to their pensions. This is likely to impact many areas including schools, some NHS operations and passport checks (more info in BBC Q&A).

Which of these is closest to your view (if you have more than one job/contract choose the one you spend most time on)

I work in the public sector

A. I fully support the strike
B. I support it as it's democratic - but I would've voted / did vote against it
C. I'm against the strike
D. I don't know enough about it to decide

I work in the private or charity sector

B. I support it as it's democratic - but I would've voted / did vote against it

I don't work / am unemployed/ am retired

B. I support it as it's democratic - but would've voted against it myself

Click reply to discuss

Comments

• daska
    daska Posts: 6,212 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Hardly surprising that those in the private sector don't agree with the strike given that they'll be the ones paying the (protected and still really rather generous in comparison to what's available to most people) pensions of the people striking. I have every sympathy with the public sector workers whose pensions are being reduced, I know from experience what it's like to see your pension pot that you've worked hard for reduced to a shadow of the glory you thought you'd earned but, lets be fair, it's only what's been happening to the rest of the country for several years now.
    Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants - Michael Pollan
    48 down, 22 to go
    Low carb, low oxalate Primal + dairy
    From size 24 to 16 and now stuck...