Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • humblepaperclip
    • By humblepaperclip 12th Aug 17, 4:43 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    humblepaperclip
    Some advice needed please
    • 12th Aug 17, 4:43 PM
    Some advice needed please 12th Aug 17 at 4:43 PM
    Hi everyone,
    I graduated earlier this year with a Masters in Chemistry and no idea what to do with my life. I saw an ad for a temporary lab assistant which I thought would be perfect - 'real world' lab experience for my CV, a chance to think about what I wanted from life and some money in the bank - so I applied. At the interview they asked if I would be happy to help out in the office too at busy times, which I said would be fine - no harm in learning a few new skills. Fast forward a couple of months (they advertised super early) and I have just finished my first week. On my first day I went into the lab ready for training (along with two other newbies) but was quickly ushered to the offices where I was introduced to the office staff and given a desk. I have spent the rest of the week at said desk doing all the jobs nobody else wants to do - hand copying lab data, folding letters and putting into envelopes, checking transfers between sites match up - and I am bored out of my mind. I had to sign some health and safety stuff yesterday and noticed that my position was listed as 'admin assistant' so I asked the woman who hired me if I would be in the lab at all and was told I would do some work in the other office later and that everyone would hav