Kia car purchase - advised to take finance instead of cash purchase!

Options
Face
Face Posts: 32 Forumite
First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
Hi,

I hope someone can offer some advice please.

Been to look at buying a new Kia today as a cash buyer.

The sales person has advised me though that if I take out a finance deal (PCP, I believe) then the finance company will then give me a £1500 deposit contribution. The sales person then said that I can ring up the finance company and tell them that I want to pay off the finance (which I would use my existing cash to do) and that I would only have to pay a bit of interest.

Can someone with experience of this please confirm/explain in more detail. I don't want to do it if when I call up to pay off early they end up charging me virtually all of the interest or removing the deposit contribution or something similar. But it does seem an appealing way to get an extra £1500 off the cost.

I've never done this before so am looking for advice on the best way to do it, (ie during the 14 day cooling off period, or after the first monthly payment has gone through, only when the moon is full etc etc) and also the best terminology to use when speaking with the finance company ie do I "withdraw", or "settle" etc etc.

Thanks very much in advance for your help and advice.

Enjoy your weekend.

Face

Comments

• McKneff
    McKneff Posts: 38,823 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Rubbish. They will be getting a kick back.
    Tell them you want the same deal with cash or you go to yhe next nearest dealer . I got the deal as aa cass customer last year...
    Annoying when they take advantage .
    Ring up, dont say who you are and ask to see what deals there are.
    And if you go ahead haggle, haggle, haggle, kia carpets, yank of fuel and cash off too. If no, tell them you will thibk about it and come back tomorrow
    make the most of it, we are only here for the weekend.