Signing off electrical work

If I were to have electrical work completed in my house, including fuse box and re-wiring the kitchen by someone who wasn't able to sign it off......, what would my options be if and when we sold the house?
Could I:
1. Take out an indemnity policy on the work?
2. Ask another electrician to sign it off?
3. Deeply regret not getting the work done 'properly' in the first place?

I am sure I remember reading something about paying the council to sign it off. However, I phoned them re the subject and they didn't have a clue about doing this for privately owned homes.

Any constructive suggestions?

Comments

• newbie1980
    newbie1980 Posts: 2,016
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    hi get a part p electrician if in england and wales too much hassle if u dont trust me i work as a self employed sparky and the people who try and get me to sign of work is amazing
    have it done properley but get 3 or 4 quotes and if ur willing to help with chasing walls etc tell them which shoul;d keep costs down
  • wafers
    wafers Posts: 91
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    The guy should be Part P by early next year. He's in the process at the moment. However, there is always the slight chance that this may not happen, which is my only concern...
    Funnily enough, I've chased out the walls this weekend, so first fix should be fairly hassle free.....
  • Tr1pp
    Tr1pp Posts: 277 Forumite
    chances are you will not get another electrician to sign off someone elses work, why would they, its their !!! on the line, even if they do check every bit of wire themselves.

Im assuming your considering using a friend who knows about electronics and will work cheap but isnt formally qualified?