CCJ taking money from wages but we received no letters at all

Hi,
I'm new to this and basically, my OH just found out that our old landlord had taken a CCJ out against him and won. We have not received any letters calls etc...nothing to say this was going to happen. I don't know what to do???? We owed them a months rent of £750, they asked us to sign a hand written paper saying we would pay which we did. As we were moving to another city and as yet didn't have a permanent home sorted (couch surfing till we found a place) we gave them my parents address, they didn't write to us there either , they also have our emails and phone numbsrs, but didnt get in contact that way either. We didnt give them our new address not to run away but simply as we had pre arranged payment at a later (up to a year), date. We had had arrears with them previously and paid them off before we left- they insisted on cash not payments into their accs or company accs for some reason i cant recall now, we did this but didnt take recipts, how stupid of us. Also as the house was a student property before they were renting it to us at a loss or so they say, and my OH offered to teach their child twice a week for 1hr a time -to top up the rent- they ageeed and we kept that off the books- it was worth £60\week £240\month, so although we' lost' money we got a home. We didn't have much in the way of choice as we have dogs and were finding it difficult to find accommodation elsewhere. So we took what we could. To be honest we were stupid. And we should have seen this coming. Dodgy landlords come in many guises. OH just found out a couple of hours ago from his boss, who is obviously annoyed as he has to fill this in tmrw. We have no clue has to how much is being asked for-if it is indeed the one month we owe or are they trying to get more out of us-especially as we had those previous arrers we paid for in cash. Neither of us knows what to do if we can at all do anything. Any advice would be helpful. Can