Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Techie Stuff > Unable to play .mp4 files on media player (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Unable to play .mp4 files on media player
Closed Thread
Views: 517
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
Kopite73
Old 13-04-2012, 3:36 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28
Default Unable to play .mp4 files on media player

Hi,
My daily commute to work is usually around 3 hours a day in total. To kill time and to stop myself going mad, a couple of years ago I bought an Archos 704 media player.

I've been watching US tv shows downloaded from the net which I've been getting in .avi format. These have always played without a problem. I'm now finding that more and more of the files I download are now in a .mp4 format. The filesize is reduced so they take less time to download and take up less room on the pc / media player so I can understand the attraction. My problem is, my media player won't play them !

I know I can convert the files from one format to another but as far as I'm aware, that can only be done one file at a time and so can be a lengthy process.

I've tried Googling for Archos .mp4 codec/plugin but just get loads of pages showing me where I can buy a new player itself. Any suggestions ?
Thanks.
Kopite73 is offline
Report Post
# 2
fwor
Old 13-04-2012, 4:12 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,599
Default

Have you tried here:

https://store.archos.com/plugins.php
fwor is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to fwor For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Kopite73
Old 20-04-2012, 8:48 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Having tried the Archos website, apparently they no longer "support" plug in's for my media player so they're not available to buy. I've also emailed them to ask if they can suggest anything but so far nothing.
Kopite73 is offline
Report Post
# 4
agrinnall
Old 20-04-2012, 9:06 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 8,195
Default

Are you sure that the converters only allow you to do one file at a time? I spent much of yesterday converting sound files from .m4a to .mp3 so I can play them through my new car's USB port, and the software I used allowed me to add as many files as I wanted then let the conversion run in the backgound.
agrinnall is offline
Report Post
# 5
andy2004
Old 21-04-2012, 12:21 AM
PPR
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 1,300
Send a message via Yahoo to andy2004
Default

idea, check the download before downloading, should tell you the filetype in the name shown from wherever your downloading from.
alternatively, use many of the free coverters available to convert them to the correct format.
2nd idea, change the extension from mp4 to avi.
andy2004 is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 26 November 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile
  • Is what's app going to be made responsible for all communications on it too? And BT?
  • As someone who runs one of the UKs big social networks (MSE forum) I find the call to monitor every post & PM bizarre & counter legal advice
  • RT @theGeoffMcQ: I follow some City fans who like to use extra letters when they're happy... Hi! @AllyFogg @MartinSLewis @HelenHobday http:?

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.