Organising finances: 50k saved but badly help pls!

Hi, I’m a complete amateur with finances and wondered if I could get some help. Background: I’ve saved since being a kid and now in my mid thirties. I want to buy a house within the next year and half and have built up a good deposit.

When reviewing my account today I realise how stupid I am being as in essence I am currently loosing money with any savings and I’m prepared to take the abuse I deserve for this.

This is a break down of finances (all with Halifax). 21,000 in rewards current account, no interest. 22,000 in instant isa saver at 0.2%, 6,850 in help to buy isa at 3.5%. Total approx 50k.

This is clearly stupid. I wondered what I should do? Am I best to move the 22,000 isa elsewhere? And surely I am mad to have 21,000 in a rewards account gaining nothing? Also, am I best to stay with the help to buy ISA? I’d like to try get a house at approx 250,000 if the banks allow me to- someone mentioned that there is another option in passing? I currently save the full monthly allowance of 200 in the help to buy each month.

I can save 1000 a month due to staying with friends at the moment- also, any thoughts on where this should go would be amazing.

Any advise (with or without abuse for my stupidity :)) is very welcome and a massive thank you in advance!!

Comments

• ValiantSon
    ValiantSon Posts: 2,586 Forumite