Freelancer outsourcing work

Hello,

I am a self-employed freelance writer and this is the first year I'm thinking about outsourcing work. In short, I have multiple clients who provide me with lots of work and I find myself needing help to complete it on time. I have a couple of other writers to outsource to and I was wondering how do I write off the money I pay them for their work? One of the main persons to whom I'd like to outsource is my husband, who's also a freelance writer. I need to mention that most transactions in my business are via PayPal. Is it enough to write off the PayPal transactions as expenses? Or do I need to do anything else?

Thanks,

Allison

Comments

• Are you a sole trader? If so, it is an allowable business expense.
    Who having known the diamond will concern himself with glass?

Rudyard Kipling

• Yes, I'm a sole trader. Do I need to get invoices from the writers?
  • Yes, as supporting evidence in case HMRC ever decide to enquire. You are using sub-contractors. Will your clients be happy about this?

Rudyard Kipling

• Thank you for your reply. My clients are fine with it, and I'll be supervising/correcting the texts anyway. Wouldn't it look suspicious to get invoices from my husband, though? He has his own clients, but sometimes his work is slow, and I could use his help.
  • MDMD
    MDMD Posts: 1,419
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    alisson44 wrote: »
    Wouldn't it look suspicious to get invoices from my husband, though? He has his own clients, but sometimes his work is slow, and I could use his help.

No, as he (like the others) will declare the income on his tax return and the records would match if they did query it.
  • Paaarp
    Paaarp Posts: 24 Forumite
    Sorry to but in. I'm about to start doing this too.

I'm not a sole trader (yet). Would I have to be one to be able to factor in the costs paid out to sub-contractors?

Thanks!