Credit Resolution Services gym letter

Hi
I'm a newbie here looking for some advice.
I rejoined my local gym in Jan '13, I moved house in March and it was difficult for me to continue going, I last went in April '13.
In March this year I wrote to the gym and cancelled my £25 a month DD.
Today I received a letter from Credit Resolution Services saying I owed £200 +£108 fees for them.
As far as I am concerned I have fulfilled my 12 month contract and able to cancel.
Their letter stated I had been sent letters but at no point have I received any previous communication from either the gym or the CCA, also my contact mobile phone number has remained the same and I have had no phone calls.
I have seen various posts on here and other forums with a template letter to send to them asking for an original contract agreement, a statement of account and their instruction from the gym, I was just wondering if there is an up to date template following the changes to which governing body is responsible from April this year?
Any advice appreciated, thanks in advance
Mel

Comments

• Hi.
    I am in a similar situation! I cancelled my gym membership in may and had it acknowledged etc from the gym. Apparently then missed the last payment of 9.99, which I didn't know, bear in mind I had never missed a payment for the year and a half I was with them. I then moved house and didnt think of it again. Until last week when I got a letter from CRS saying I owe them 162.49!!! I rang and questioned it, spoke to an absolute idiot on the phone who said the full amount needed paying, I point blank refused! Said I would pay the 9.99 but not a chance would I be paying 162.49!! I then rang the gym and the man I spoke to agreed how disgusting this was! I am awaiting a phone call back from someone in their finance department tomorrow but any advise or help would also be muchly appreciated!
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,876 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic