How to complete ombudsman paperwork for packaged account charges?

Options
Hi

I am new to the forum but have used the actual website quite a lot.

I recently tried to claim my charges for having a packaged bank account and was successful with one bank RBS but not with Halifax.

I have been paying Halifax for approx 5 years for a packaged account. I have never used any of the benefits and to be honest to this day unsure of what they actually are. The account is a Reward Current Account.

At the time of taking the account I remember asking for a overdraft and being offered the account as it came with a free overdraft however they are arguing it was taken out after this time and was signed for.

My arguement is I have never used the benefits of the account, at the time I was in financial hardship as I was a student and my husband was on disability benefit also just had our second baby. My car was always insured and always paid for breakdown cover as part of the package. My mobile was through my mum and we lived in a rented property so unable to use the insurance associated to that. Also we was unable to go on holiday at the time so never needed holiday insurance.

I have tried twice and both times been told I am not eligible for a refund as I could have used mobile insurance however £15 a month is a lot just to insure my phone. I'm unsure what other benefits come with the account. I believe I was mis sold this as it did not suit my circumstances at the time and not financially viable.

I have now gone through the ombudsman and had a huge pack sent to me and unsure what I say that will help me get the refund. A lot is asking did I ever have breakdown cover etc!

Can any one with experience of filling these forms in please help?

I am sorry for such a long post! :)

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    You've already complained to the Bank. All you have to do is send a copy of your original complaint to the Ombudsman for them to adjudicate.