IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Changing an old style fuse box
Closed Thread
Views: 10,008
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
juneyjuney
Old 03-04-2012, 12:43 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brentwood, Essex
Posts: 4
Default Changing an old style fuse box

we have an old style fuse box, the kind with actual fuse wire rather than switches.

We have been quoted £220 to replace this. Does this sound reasonable/too good to be true?
juneyjuney is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to juneyjuney For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 2
fluffpot
Old 03-04-2012, 3:25 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,211
Default

Don't know the size of your property, but it sounds a bit cheap to me - a good make of fuse board with circuit breakers plus new tails is going to be nearly £100 (esp if earthing to gas and water pipes is required) - so that means £120 labour.... If they do it properly with all the tests and fault rectification plus the certificates it's going to be a minimum of 1 day I would say, unless you've got a small flat. £120 a day sounds pretty cheap to me.

Is the electrician registered? You can check here
www.competentperson.co.uk
Will you be getting certificates? Including a part P cert?
fluffpot is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fluffpot For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
juneyjuney
Old 03-04-2012, 5:08 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brentwood, Essex
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you for your reply. We have a two bedroom house. I thought it seemed very cheap.

I had a look on the comptent person website and his business is listed there.

He said pretty much what you said. £100 for the board and £120 for days work. I am confused!
juneyjuney is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to juneyjuney For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
meer53
Old 03-04-2012, 5:17 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,671
Default

I have an old style fuse box too that needs replacing. £220 sounds a good price, do you know the person who is doing it ? If you do i'd say go ahead, if not, get another quote.
meer53 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to meer53 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
fluffpot
Old 04-04-2012, 9:46 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,211
Default

Well if he's happy with £120 a day before tax then that's fine obv! BUT make sure that you get all the certificates.

To test properly he'll need to get to all sockets and all lights. If you don't see him doing this and he just sits in the fuse board cupboard for 2 hours swapping the board then he's not done it right

Hope all goes well
Fluff
fluffpot is offline
Report Post
# 6
baldelectrician
Old 04-04-2012, 10:21 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ayrshire
Posts: 1,807
Default

I did one today- it was a house I had worked in before and the bonding was in place.
I had installed a new shower circuit before christmas so I know thats fine

We started just before 9am and finished at 12.30- me and apprentice, decent make of consumer unit and new tails.

All in £270 inc paperwork (no part Poo in Scotland)

For £220 I would be asking what make the electrician is using.

I use Hager, I steer clear from Wylex, BG, MK , Volex and Crabtree
baldly going on...
baldelectrician is offline
Report Post
# 7
jkgray
Old 12-04-2012, 10:20 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 193
Default

I had mine done inc bonding all paperwork, testing etc in Liverpool about a year ago for (I think from memory) £260. We were quoted a lot more by some others but the bloke who did ours said openly that he usually did commercial work and had only recently started doing some domestic work as work was so slow hence why he was willing to do it for that price.
jkgray is offline
Report Post
# 8
Owain Moneysaver
Old 12-04-2012, 11:04 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunny Central Scotland
Posts: 5,593
Default

A lot depends on the state of the existing wiring, and how much spare cable there is at the existing fuse box.

Existing wiring in good order, cable long enough to reach new consumer unit terminals, no faults found on testing = happy days.

Cables too short to reach new CU terminals, extend all circuits using crimps or a separate enclosure with DIN rail terminals, low insulation readings on existing wiring, something somewhere the earth continuity is broken = not happy days.

Often you don't know which will apply until the old box is off the wall.
Wins and Freebies: τøøτhραṡτε, τεα-τøώεl
Owain Moneysaver is offline
Report Post
# 9
fluffpot
Old 12-04-2012, 2:08 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,211
Default

That's why I always complete a full test and inspect before I do a fuse board upgrade - that way the customer will know exactly how much it will cost as I'll know where the faults are and how short the cables are!
fluffpot is offline
Report Post
# 10
edinburgher
Old 12-04-2012, 2:40 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,917
Question

I was recently quoted £180 for a replacement consumer unit (Scotland), which seems pretty low considering the comments being made here.

The electrician has been out before to carry out a basic job and seemed pretty thorough - are there typically less circuits to check etc. in a flat?
edinburgher is offline
Report Post
# 11
fluffpot
Old 12-04-2012, 8:05 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,211
Default

Yes, no of circuits will affect the price. Typically flats might have 4 circuits. I did a huge house the other week with 26! It was a bit more expensive
fluffpot is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to fluffpot For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 12
edinburgher
Old 12-04-2012, 8:30 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,917
Default

Quote:
Yes, no of circuits will affect the price. Typically flats might have 4 circuits. I did a huge house the other week with 26! It was a bit more expensive
Well, you gotta get paid
edinburgher is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 3:52 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 29 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSBBC RADIO 1'S LIVE LOUNGE 2014
  • TAYLOR SWIFT1989 (DELUXE)
  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.