British sign language

Please feel free to move to more relevant forum

I have for a long time wanted to learn British Sign Language. Reaching 50 at the end of this year has prompted me to realise this. Any recommendations please from anyone who has done this.

Is it better on a course at college or being self taught like YouTube or books?

Thank you
Life is like a bath, the longer you are in it the more wrinkly you become.

Comments

• I would try YouTube first, see how you got on & take it from there.

You may decide to go to an evening class to refine / get a formal qualification later
  • Seanymph
    Seanymph Posts: 2,874 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Hah! I'm 50 this year and started the Introduction to British Sign Language course at my local adult education last week.

I would recommend that you go along to a class - it wasn't that dear, they are a brilliant group of people, and practising with each other is so important. There is also the 'correct' way to sign, and the 'lazy, every day' way to sign. I have learnt that signing is regional (like an accent!), and that decoding someone else's is harder than learning the signs yourself!

The group I go to also has links to a monthly Friday night dinner group that meets (optional of course) and also a Saturday morning coffee meeting (again, optional!).

It isn't that expensive, and I am thoroughly enjoying it.
  • Spendless
    Spendless Posts: 24,149 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    I'd recommend going to a class too. Though I don't sign I know people who do. There's facial expression within it too as well as using your hands. IMO you'd need someone to tell you that you've got it correct or where you're going wrong when you're learning.

Good luck
  • suejb2
    suejb2 Posts: 1,918 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Well I've just learnt the alphabet and can spell names. Onwards and upwards. Thank you.