Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • SAB89
    • By SAB89 17th Jul 17, 7:30 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    SAB89
    Rental Deposit Nightmare - Any Ideas?
    • 17th Jul 17, 7:30 PM
    Rental Deposit Nightmare - Any Ideas? 17th Jul 17 at 7:30 PM
    Hello all!

I'm a newbie here so treat me kindly

I have an issue with my old landlord who is currently holding my deposit (in a protected scheme).

My wife and I handed the keys over, the letting agent on behalf of the landlord took the keys and they said they wanted to take £150 off the deposit for works within the flat, despite it being in good condition with the majority of it coming from fair wear-and-tear.

We said we wouldn't pay that and then we negotiated a settlement of £100.

On the 10th day, when we were expecting to receive the money as stated in the legal guidelines, they have said they want to take a further £60 from the deposit despite already agreeing the initial £100. We have had no reasons in writing as to why they want to raise the fee taken from the deposit.

Can they legally do this after agreeing a settlement already?

Any advice or help is greatly appreciated!
Page 1
    • Wanderingpomm
    • By Wanderingpomm 17th Jul 17, 7:48 PM
    • 31 Posts
    • 22 Thanks
    Wanderingpomm
    • 17th Jul 17, 7:48 PM
    • 17th Jul 17, 7:48 PM
    Just complain to the deposit protection people. They might give it all back to you if it's fair wear and tear
    • G_M
    • By G_M 17th Jul 17, 7:55 PM
    • 41,081 Posts
    • 47,195 Thanks
    G_M
    • 17th Jul 17, 7:55 PM