Cefa or FPC?

Hi everyone,

I am looking at studying either the FPC(Certificate in financial planning as it's now called) or the Cefa qualification. Apart from the difference in number of modules you must study, could any tell me the main differences between the two? If you could relate the differences to the following points, that would be even better.

1. Which is more highly regarded in the industry? If there is a leaning to one of the qualifications why is this?
2. Which awarding body offers the most user friendly study materials? I am a self funded student so therefore I am looking to get as much from the materials provided as possible as I cannot afford an external training provider. From what I picked up from looking at the Cii website, the FPC materials don't sound like they would be very thorough or helpful but I'm not sure if this is correct.
3. Are there many main differences in the actual testing of the syllabus i.e is one harder than the other? I know both are level 3 qualifications, but is one trickier than the other? I already have a level 3 qualification from the Securities Institute so I am comfortable with this standard of testing but often it varies from one body to another.
4. What would be the next step after each exam? Would having one rather than the other have any impact on further study?

If anyone could get back to me with any advice it would be greatly appreciated as I am eager to get the ball rolling. Thanks for taking time to read my post.

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,038
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    1. Which is more highly regarded in the industry? If there is a leaning to one of the qualifications why is this?

Neither one is considered better than the other. However, FPC or CFP as it is now has the greater numbers. Probably as it is the CII qualification was around first.