We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Grown our own, complete novice questions

nicola00
nicola00 Posts: 337
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
edited 1 April 2012 at 6:51PM in Gardening
Can you guys help? may be long post, I do tend to waffle on a bit, but I'm just excited :j

Would like to attempt to grow our own veg, nothing fancy or complicated just things that we eat week to week

Carrots, Potatoes, Lettuce, Tomatoes, Strawberries (poss other fruits?)

I seen a wooden trough on a shopping channel last year and ideally would love this, but wow what a lot of £'s for a fancy wooden box.... anyway talking to the kids about it (2 and 8) an they are both really keen on the idea
We aren't particularly green fingered or knowledgeable in gardening, I suffer from hayfever so tend to just cut the grass when I'm full of antihistamines and have a quick tidy up round the garden when it's needed and that's the scope of my gardening oh and a few potted plants in tubs in the front and back garden that get a trim and water every now and again

The back garden is really for the kids to run about, there slides / trampoline etc, as I have a decked area for my table an chairs an the rest is theirs

So I was thinking about using this little patch...... is it possible, its 40inches wide by 50 inches long, or am I hoping for too much from this little square :o I also thought I could use these planters, are the any good??, they could go on the decked area at the side

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3503174209...84.m1438.l2649

I have around £30 max to get supplies for this, planters are £12.50 from ebay but would like to know what else I need to invest in to get going

I'll put my questions in the next post

Comments

• nicola00
    Forumite
    th_Garden1.jpg