Please note: The Auto-enrolment sub-board is now closed. If you have a question around pensions, please post in the Pensions, Annuities and Retirement Planning board.

I don't understand any of it..

Options
Hello all.

From this month I am putting into a private pension, as part of the auto enrollment scheme.

However I am mega confused as to what is pensionable pay, and the tax relief element and just how much I will pay...I have lost the original letter that I got from my employer (M&S) but I got a letter from legal and general today to say that

I pay 3%
M&S pay 3%
The goverment pay 3%.

But then it mentions something about me paying less due to tax relief...does anyone know any good sites to work out just how much I will be paying? I am not good with this sort of thing at the best of times and I am now just mega confused :(

thanks!

Comments

• Paul_Herring
    Paul_Herring Posts: 7,481 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    http://www.thepensionsregulator.gov.uk/automatic-enrolment-earnings-threshold.aspx

Pensionable earnings: Earnings above a certain (lower - £112p/w 2015/6) figure and below a certain (higher - £815p/w 2015/6) figure.

Employers are only required to contribute based on amounts earned between those two figures. e.g. if you earn £220p/w, the amount the percentages will be based on will be £108 (£220 amount - £112 lower limit.)

Better employers will contribute based on the whole amount. (The whole £220 in the example above.)

http://www.thepensionsregulator.gov.uk/working-out-your-clients-costs.aspx

The minimum contributions for 2015/6 are 1% from employer, 1% from employee. Better employers may increase their percentage (possibly requiring a likewise increase from the employee.)

So, for the minimum requirements using the figures above:

Wage: £220
    Pensionable earnings: £108
    Employer contribution: 1% of £108 = £1.08 (coming from the company pot)