US citizen trying to get UK credit card

Hello, I am a US citizen who has lived in the UK for the past 3 years (as a student) and am now on a work visa so will be earning all of my income in the UK for the foreseeable future. I have been banking with Lloyd's for 3 years, paying phone bill for 3 years, broadband for 1. My equifax credit score is 349, the only real issue being that I am not on the electoral roll (and cannot be until I am a citizen which won't be the case for a while). Lloyd's said they cannot offer me a credit card and even some soft eligibility checkers seem to indicate i am not likely to be approved for even most of the entry level cards - it'll give me a likelihood of like 3/10 to be approved. Does anyone have any advice? Should I still apply for these entry level cards? Also I have gotten mixed advice on whether I should try to add a Note of Correction to my credit report re: the electoral roll and would love any additional clarification on that

Comments

• Voyager2002
    Voyager2002 Posts: 15,278 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I suggest you ask your bank if they can help.
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Remember credit scores don't work here like they do in the States. Round these parts, they ain't worth a hill of beans.
  • dj1471
    dj1471 Posts: 1,968 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Home Insurance Hacker!
    What US cards do you have? If you have an Amex you can transfer your account to the UK.

Being on the electoral role is not a requirement to get credit, but you'll need to shop around to find a more accommodating lender. How did you approach Lloyds? If you just did an application online it may be worth trying in branch.

A notice of correction is only for when information is incorrect.
  • Chino
    Chino Posts: 2,029 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post