Help with my business

Hi all,

Ive came here to ask you good people for a little advice, if possible, regarding growing my small business.

Im a sole trader working in construction and I have always sub contracted. Over the last few years things have been going really well and Im now at the point where I have completed a fair few smaller contracts and now I am trying to compete for much larger contracts.

As I have been a subcontractor I have not really had to deal with any real paper work, health and safety etc. This is proving a stumbling block as I am quite inexperienced with it all. Basically I want to get into a position where I am ready to go get the bigger contracts. Im making great contacts at the moment and believe I can be successful.

So my questions are these...Im a wall and floor tiler for what its worth..

1) I want to start to employ both subcontractors and maybe someone to help with paper work.. How do I legally transform from a sole trader to a company that employs people? I understand my insurances will need updating. I understand my insurance part.

2) Health and safety wise - is there an official list of everything I will need in order - i.e.; method statements, what training I will need? All of this was done by the firms Ive subcontracted to in the past so I literally turned up at courses. Do I need First aid training etc? Ive been asked today if Im CHAS accredited.

3) How to Tender - Im fine making the contacts and getting on the list to tender for jobs, however Ive not really had to officially tender for any of my work in the past. Is there a set format in which my clients would want a tender presented?

I suppose Im asking if theres any help out there for a small sole trader to turn into a successful company. I know years ago there was 'Business Link' however they seemed to have vanished and I can't find any alternatives.

Hopefully one of you good people can help.

Many thanks.

Comments

• 00ec25
    00ec25 Posts: 9,123 Forumite