Argos Store Card (Not Argos Credit Card) - Good way to build credit score?

Hi guys, this is my first post!

Cutting to the chase, I am 21 and I am new to the world of credit. I have a credit rating of 3/5 on Noddle, which is basically an average rating because I pretty much don't have much of a credit history other than a mobile phone contract that I once had.

Thusly, I want to begin building my credit score. So I was wondering if anyone knew whether or not the Argos Store Card service contacts credit agencies, thusly appearing on your report and having an effect on your credit rating? Anyone who is a veteran holder of an Argos Card please jump in I'm sure you would be of massive help! :)

Thanks! :)
Live long and prosper.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    It's a way of building some credit history, which is what lenders will look at (no scores).

However, you want to be using it regularly and clearing in full each month. Given there is only a limited number of things you would want from Argos, a credit card would be a better choice.
  • bengalknights
    bengalknights Posts: 5,021 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Its a start although best methods are a sim only card and a basic credit card thats paid in full
  • pogofish
    pogofish Posts: 10,852 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Why not ask this in the Credit Raring Forum..?
  • karl1989
    karl1989 Posts: 54 Forumite
    i would say yes, but as mentioned by zX81 you will only want soo much from Argos,
    i did the same as you 4 years ago to build my credit, i am now on my second mortgage lol
    had to build myself up to where i now want ed to be at.