Income protection - not sure whether to get it?

Options
Hello,

Me and my partner are first-time buyers. My boyfriend works in the public sector and his salary is around £27,000 per annum. I've asked him to clarify with HR what his sick pay policy is and we are waiting for a response.
I'm a PhD student.

Our mortgage payments are going to be £521 per month over 35 years.

A protection consultant has recommended we take out income protection and we are unsure whether or not to do this. It would only cover my partner and not me. I was told I am not eligible due to being a PhD student. Can anyone advise? We were offered the following:

Cover: £6,000.00 each year
The amount of this cover will increase each year. We will pay this in regular monthly payments.
Term of cover: 35 years
Monthly premium: £31.66

More information about your Income Protection premium
● This premium is guaranteed, which means it won't change during the term of the cover (other than for yearly increases to your cover or unless we need to make changes in the circumstances shown in the plan details and key facts documents).
Additional features of your Income Protection
● The deferred period for this cover is 4 weeks. The 'deferred period' is explained in your plan details.
● This cover uses the own occupation definition of incapacity in the plan details.
● The amount of cover will increase by the Retail Price Index on every anniversary of the date the plan starts.
● The maximum amount we will pay is explained in the section ‘How much we will pay’ in your plan details.

Cover 2 Waiver of Premium (Sickness)
Term of cover: 35 years
Monthly premium: £1.89

More information about your Waiver of Premium (Sickness) premium
● This premium is guaranteed, which means it won't change during the term of the cover (other than for changes in line with changes to the total monthly premium you are protecting, or changes to the cover that you may choose).
Additional features of your Waiver of Premium (Sickness)