IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Car Parking Partnership

Im a student at keele university and there is a private company that tickets on campus. They are called car parking partnership. Anyway I parked on the pavement with no pay and display ticket. I got a CPN. My mate who parked in front of me got a ticket even though she had a pay ad display.

Can i get out of it?

Comments

• Neil_B
    Neil_B Posts: 1,360 Forumite
    It's a very well known site, frequently being mentioned on other forums.

There was some mention of the Uni threatening to withold Graduation for non-payment I think! Ridiculous.

As so often mentioned there is clearly a problem there.

Basically this is a private ticket and only enforceable via contract law. To be so they have to prove you agreed to a contract (via signage etc)

These ppc s tend to send loads of threatening letters re debt collectors Court action, bauliffs etc. This is all bluff. Only a very tiny percentage ever reach Court - something like 0.1 % (if that). Many then lose.

Very often the original ticket is illegal through use of wrong terminology and so is subsequent paperwork.

There is no point in appealing at all. Best advice is to completely ignore them.

They tend to go away after about 6 nasty letters.

speak to your SU cos, as I said, well known site.
  • cdti
    cdti Posts: 30 Forumite
    i paid up 4 times last year, but that was a different car!
  • Conor_3
    Conor_3 Posts: 6,944 Forumite
    cdti wrote: »
    i paid up 4 times last year, but that was a different car!

Proof that students are stupid.
  • Neillgb
    Neillgb Posts: 574 Forumite
    cdti wrote: »