PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Hider dried soup mix

I was given a packet of 500g of the above dried soup mix this morning at coffee morning and it doesn't come with instructions I have never used dried soup mix before so I was wondering
A. how much you use to make a decent batch ?
B. do you soak it overnight
C. any recipes would be handy
D. what's the ratio mix to water/stock

and have any of you used dried mix before and is it any good I normally make my soup with fresh veg (usually when they are starting to look past their best ;)) but I'm willing to give it a go,especially as it was a freebie :D:D

Comments

• edwink
    edwink Posts: 2,968 Forumite
    Homepage Hero First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper
    edited 24 May 2016 at 4:25PM
    I remember having dried soup mix soup as a child and all I can remember is that it was awful but I had to eat it or else I went without. I still remember the dried asparagus it just looked pale green without any nice pieces of asparagus in.

I remember also those Chef square shaped soups in little square boxes because we used to have the chicken noodle one. No pieces of chicken just chicken flavoured with tiny pieces of pasta in. All I can say is yuk!!

I think the packet contents ratio to water was either 3/4 of a pint or one pint of water but I am not sure. Maybe someone will come along and help with that.

Do you remember the saying "chefs square shaped soups show how good soups should be". Why I remembered that saying I really have no idea. You were meant to say it really fast so it came out all wrong. :rotfl:

HTH

Edwink