which includes new calculator to work out the interest

To discuss or ask a question about this article, click reply
Former MSE team member

Comments

• D.A.
    D.A. Posts: 1,159
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    My wife already has a Halifax Regular Saver account. I'm wondering if the 10% rate only applies to new customers, or existing ones?
  • I am currently looking for mortgages to buy my first home.

What do people think about opting for an interest only mortgage - let's say with a fixed rate of 6.5% for 2 years and saving regularly with the halifax regular savings earning 10% and repaying the sum saved at the end of the fixed term?

Sorry if this seems a silly question. I am new to this 'working out finances' thing and while it seems to make sense to me no-one else seems quite convinced. It would also give me a degree of flexibility as I start off...

Thoughts greatly appreciated!!

miss_jc
  • fagun
    fagun Posts: 411 Forumite
    The artricle has a small mistake regarding the Halifax RS account. The Guaranteed Saver Reward can be a nominated account and pays 6.25%, with one withdrawal allowed during the year. Compared to 7.01% fixed term deposit, you're just over £20 better off if you're saving the full £500 / month.
  • Hi, I note in this section that you say don't bother with HSBC, but for those who already have a plus account (such as I with a Graduate plus account) it negates the monthly fees if your overdraft is reinvested in the reg saver account.

A quick calc allowed for 1225 deposit in the first month and £25 thereafter (totalling £1500 - the usual size overdraft) giving £135 pretax, whereas the fee for this type of account is £9.95 per month.

So by using your overdraft for this purpose you gain the services offered on the plus account as well as £15!! or post tax it costs around £10 for the year, which is a darn sight better.

Not that I can do this, as I was pretty heavily into my overdraft after uni :-(

:beer: