New to shares

Hi all :)

I am new to shares and after hearing today the government a going to make lloyds shares available to the public then i want to buy some.

My question is to you guys (in the know) what process shall i use to buy them when they become available? i will buy so many and just leave them i wont be very active?

who should i use to buy them etc....

Help and advice much appreciated

Comments

• colsten
    colsten Posts: 17,597
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    You have a few months before you can buy any Lloyds shares. You should be using that time to read up about investing and to determine whether it would really be a good idea to have 100% of your investment money in a single company. Most investment beginners are a lot better advised starting with funds as these invest in many companies and are far less risky than having all your eggs in one basket.

The Lloyds share offer might be a slight exception as there is a bonus involved but you still shouldn't rush into it.

Search the forum for 'recommended reading', there are some great suggestions of books and websites. They will also explain how buy shares.
    2010 Posts: 5,326
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    Hi all :)I am new to shares and after hearing today the government a going to make lloyds shares available to the public then i want to buy some.

You don`t have to wait, you can buy them right now for 77.4p each.
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,225
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    2010 wrote: »
    You don`t have to wait, you can buy them right now for 77.4p each.
    ....plus dealing/trading costs of course!
    2010 Posts: 5,326
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    eskbanker wrote: »
    ....plus dealing/trading costs of course!

Of course.:p

It will be interesting to compare today`s price with next Springs.