20 Airbnb Hosting Tricks - guide discussion

MSE_Jenny
MSE_Jenny Posts: 1,312 MSE Staff
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
edited 1 April 2016 at 6:03PM in Boost your income
articlealert2_banner.gif

Hi all,

We've written a new Airbnb Hosting guide and would love your feedback.

How did you find the info? Was it useful? Do you have any other tips you'd add?

Thanks for your help!

MSE Jenny

Comments

• Hi Jenny and everyone else on MSE!

I have been hosting on AirBnB for a few months now and I absolutely love it! I have met some wierd and wonderful people from all over the world and made some money. :beer:

My question is this: I rent my flat. Can the rent I pay be deducted from my AirBnB income? Does my rent count as part of my expenses?

Any info would be gratefully received!

P.S. My landlord knows I'm doing AirBnb and doesn't mind as long as I pay my rent and don't bother him about repairs etc.!
  • paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    Speaking as a frequent traveller, I hate staying in places with domestic-quality fixtures. They wear out more quickly, and a 'spare bed' really does only suit occasional use, not to be let and slept on several nights a week. They tend to creak more, sag more, wobble more, etc.

If you're trying to compete with other local accommodation, get commercial quality fittings and advertise the fact!
  • NJH1
    NJH1 Posts: 16 Forumite
    We found the tips about AirBnB really valuable as we had recently started hosting and also needed to renew our home insurance.