Tax on sale of US shares

I am selling some restricted Stock units that have vested (they were gifted to my by my company). I was surprised to see 47% of the vested units have been withheld to cover for foreign tax (it's a US company but I am a British resident and have filed the W8BEN to be exempt from US taxes).
Why is it 47% that has been withheld?
It is under the capital gains tax threshold.
Any advice would be welcome, thanks
MS Stalwart. Used site for >10 years :j

Make Do, Mend and Minimise member - focussing on upcycling/repurposing and sewing

Comments

• EdSwippet
    EdSwippet Posts: 1,588 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    RSUs given to you by your employer are treated as taxable income at the point where they are handed over (vesting). Generally, the broker will 'auto-sell' some of them for you to pay the tax liability, based on a flat-rate (over-)guesstimate of what the tax liability will be, say 47%, and the employer then balances this out at the next pay period so that the right tax is actually paid.

So say you vest 100 shares at $1, to keep the numbers simple. The broker might withhold 47 shares on vesting, so you wind up with 53 shares in your account. At the next pay period your tax rate is actually 20%, so you then get 47 - 20 = $27 back in extra salary, as a refund of the over-withholding. When you sell the 53 shares there's a capital gain calculation to make, but up to then capital gains tax doesn't come into things. Your cost for these 53 shares would be $53, so no added complexity in finding that. (The main complication would be the USD to GBP forex rates on assorted transaction dates, but I'll leave that aside since all it does is just complicate things even further.)