Real-life MMD: Waitress takes leftovers to give to a retirement home. Should I report

Options
Former_MSE_Debs
Former_MSE_Debs Posts: 890 Forumite
edited 4 February 2014 at 2:02PM in MoneySaving polls
Money Moral Dilemma: Waitress takes leftovers to give to a retirement home. Should I report her?

I work as a waitress at private functions. After events, loads of cakes, sandwiches, etc, are thrown away, even though they're still perfectly good. Our bosses say we're not allowed to take anything home, but one of my colleagues sneaks things into her bag. I was going to report her, but found out she gives them to residents at the retirement home her mum is at and they look forward to the treats. Should I say something?

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply

Note: Please remember that these are real-life Money Moral Dilemmas and while we want you to have your say, please remember to be nice when you respond.

If you have a real-life money MORAL dilemma, email [EMAIL="MMD@moneysavingexpert.com"]MMD@moneysavingexpert.com[/EMAIL]

Previous MMDs: View All

[threadbanner] box [/threadbanner]

Comments

• mgush5
    mgush5 Posts: 7 Forumite
    Options
    I would speak to the OWNER of the restaurant (not your bosses) to help her indirectly, If things are going to be thrown out anyway, and they do not want food to be taken by the staff why not say to the owner something like:

"You know we always have a lot of food left over after functions, but our bosses won't allow anyone to take anything home with us, have you considered donating them to those less fortunate, Waitress X's mum is in a nursing home and I am sure they would love to get extra treats, in fact if we do that then we could always pretend we are someone else and tell the local paper about it - they publish an article about us helping out and we'd get more business from it potentially"