Sell old books?

Options
I studied Business Information Systems between 2000 and 2003. I still have almost all the books I bought during the time.

Does anyone have experience selling their books long after graduation and how did you do it? The problem I have is that editions have changed now. For example, I bought the second edition and there is now a third edition.

Comments

• PDC
    PDC Posts: 805 Forumite
    Options
    You can search eBay for completed listings on the editions you have, and also see what Amazon has them for in the used sections.

I guess it depends how much has changed and, given we are talking about 12 or more years I would guess quite a lot has.
  • agrinnall
    agrinnall Posts: 23,344 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I just donated my undergraduate text books (Chemistry) to the main library in my home town after I graduated as I knew then that I wouldn't be directly using my degree in my career - although this was long before the invention of the internet, let alone ebay, so selling wouldn't have been as easy.
  • lulalola
    Options
    To be honest, in a subject like Business Information I think that you will struggle to sell old editions, as things move on so quickly and the information will be outdated. University libraries will also not want them, for this reason. Might be worth putting them on Ebay/Amazon Marketplace for a low price but I'm not sure how far you will get (I used to work in academic support so know a bit about this kind of thing). Sorry OP!
  • vivatifosi
    vivatifosi Posts: 18,746 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Mortgage-free Glee! PPI Party Pooper
    Options
    If you type the ISBNs into abebooks or Amazon that will give you a market price for the texts. In all likelihood, they will be pence apiece, though occasionally they can be in the tens of pounds for something rare/desirable.