how do i cancel working tax credit ? *newbie*

Hi everyone i hope someone can help ? I have been claiming working tax credits for the last 7 months but as from the end of january 2008 i finished my employment and called to cancel my working tax credit but they are still paying me every week ? i am at the minute having to sign on and claim jobseekers allowance of which i have not yet received anything and ive called now 3 times to cancel my working tax credit payments and they say thanks and we have now sorted out your claim and you wont be payed again but they ARE still paying me ? Will this effect my claim for income support and jobseekers allowance and how can i get thme to stop paying me ?

Thanks to anyone that can help !

Comments

• NAF_3
    NAF_3 Posts: 58 Forumite
    If you have tried three times and they still havent stopped then that is terrible service. I dunno how helpful your local office is but they should have a priority line through to Tax Credits which is available only to Benefit offices. Try getting them to call on that priority line and see if that gets the job done.

I have done this for people recently and it is instantaneous.

Unfortunately, while the HMRC continue to pay WTC it will be taken in as income against your JSA, which may knock you out until it is stopped. If it is stopped from the original date you made contact and HMRC raise an overpayment inform JSA of this and they should re-assess your claim.

You may also have qualified for a WTC Run-on which means that you get paid for another four weeks after you finish work.
  • Your change of circumstances could be stuck in a processing que.

Do you receive child tax credit at all? Maybe that's why you are getting payments.

Keep a note of the dates you have called and information given, if you have an overpayment you can dispute against it as you have notified TCO on a number of occasions.

A WTC run on is paid as a GIRO if you are entitled to it.