Parents supported me, but looking to upsize!

Hey guys,

I really need some advice, as i'm new to mortgages!

I've very fortunate to have parents who have been able to help me get onto the property ladder a few years ago. As they get much better interest rates (1%), they kindly offered that for around 5 years, they'd lend me the money to purchase the apartment and I only pay them back the interest on their mortgage repayments (£140 p/m). The theory behind this, is that i'd be able to save as much as I possibly can to put towards a deposit.

In Jan 2016 I purchased the one bedroom apartment for £140k. Since then it's increased to £170k and i'm looking at selling and moving into something a little bigger with more bedrooms.
My plan was to use the £170k as a deposit on my next property, and then in Jan 2021 when my parents need their money back, i'd remortgage.

Here's where I need your help;

If I see a property for £285k, then I won't have an issue getting a £115k mortgage on my own.
However, come Jan 2021 (this isn't a requirement, and they'd be happy to extend if needed) when my parents want their money back, i'm going to need to remortgage with my girlfriend. Together we'll have saved up roughly £70k savings and according to Halifax (based on our existing salaries but likely to increase between now then) we could borrow up to £308k.

Am I working things our slightly wrong, or am I worrying about nothing? I just want to make sure that i'm able to pay my parents their £140k back & don't end up in a pickle.

Thanks
Matt

Comments

• davidmcn
    davidmcn Posts: 23,596 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Most lenders won't be happy with your deposit being a loan from your parents.

Not clear how your current place is owned - you say you own it, but also refer to your parents' mortgage payments?
  • Okydoky25
    Okydoky25 Posts: 1,139 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Where are you getting £170k as a deposit?