Importing from China question

Hi,

I hope you can help me. I'm trying to start up my own business importing handmade canvas paintings from China to sell at fairs and markets. I think things are coming together, but as I'm totally new to importing I had some questions. I've spent quite a lot of time on the HMRC website but there's just too much info there to digest!

The total cost of my imports will be around £800, with postage making it nearer £1100 in total. Both deliveries will be coming via TNT or FedEx, straight from China to my door.

Time is quite critical, so can anyone enlighten me as to the process and anything I can do in advance, any forms to fill out now? Art is subject to 5% VAT and no import duty from what I can see.

Thanks very much in advance for any help :-)

Andrew

Comments

• bengalknights
    bengalknights Posts: 5,021 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Simply order it and you should then pay the tax as part of the shipping clearance when it arrives, once this is cleared then just account for the cost in your accounts

There will be no forms to fill out as the courier will usually do it on your behalf
  • paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    There may be a clearance charge payable which varies by courier, some charge a fixed fee others may charge a percentage, so maybe do your research which courier you want to use first.

I'm sure you're aware that you need to be quite certain of who you're dealing with in China, the business culture isn't the same, and it's possible to get very badly fleeced. If you can pay through a (reputable, agreed) escrow service it'll be safer for you.
  • paddyrg
    paddyrg Posts: 13,543 Forumite
    What may happen is that you may get charged excess taxes on import by mistake - as time is of the essence, you can take that up retrospectively with the carrier. It will require the goods to be accurately labeled by the shipper, which isn't always the case.