PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

cheaper cuts of meat

This is probably really obvious to everyone else, but as I'm quite new to shopping (only moved out of my mums in october) it's not to me. Basically am wondering what the cheapest cuts of meat are to buy. Really trying to budget, only meat we really eat just now are chicken breasts, beef frying steak (although have tried the stewing stuff in the casserole which was nice) and mince. What else should we be trying?
Total Debt (27th Nov 08) £16,707.03 Now £5,102.72
Debt Free Date [strike]Nov 2012[/strike] August 2011

Comments

• elona
    elona Posts: 11,806 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    You could try going to supermarket one hour before they close and getting whatever is a good reduction and will freeze.

Have you tried Quorn?

You can eke out meat or mince by adding lots of veg or tomatoes, baked beans etc.

There is a good thread on shopping for a family that might give you some good tips.

Do not forget BOGOF (buy one get one free)
    "This site is addictive!"
    Wooligan 2 squares for smoky - 3 squares for HTA
    Preemie hats - 2.
  • tiff
    tiff Posts: 6,608 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Savvy Shopper!
    Tins of tuna, lambs liver, whole chicken as opposed to chicken breasts, lamb shanks (lovely in slow cooker) sausages.

You can go onto www.tesco.com, and click on groceries, you will find out prices on there which will then tell you what sort of thing is the cheapest. Also dont forget you can buy fresh food that is reduced and put it in the freezer.
    “A budget is telling your money where to go instead of wondering where it went.” - Dave Ramsey
  • caileag
    caileag Posts: 104 Forumite