TFL fine from over 1 year ago with no contact

I recently received a £200 fine notification on my payslip with no explanation. When I asked my manager she had to ask payroll to find the reason. Apparently the company was instructed to garnish my wages which she had not been told about. So the company has taken £200 without any prior notification to me, just a deduction from my payslip. I contacted the contact number of the letter they received who informed me to call another number but that the fine is regarding an unpaid fare TFL fine from over 1 year ago that totalled ~£470.

I have been on hold with the number for over 45 mins this morning with no reply. How can I dispute this fine or at the very least push the date back one month as I have not budgeted for a £200 unannounced loss.

Comments

• London50
    London50 Posts: 1,850 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 8 March 2017 at 4:08PM
    I am no expert on this but I think that this must have been done through a court order and as it is about TFL traveling they must have had information that you were guilty of an offence and were sent paperwork stating what would happen if you did not pay the fine.
    As the fine was not paid {and I take it by your last sentence you were guilty be it for some reason known to you} the debt collectors are doing the job and making a charge to do so.
    Personal I do not think you will stand any chance of getting it stopped or pushed back so unless your company or family/friends are prepared to loan you the cash I think you are stuck.
    As I stated this is just my opinion and if others know better I bow to their knowledge.
  • I am not guilty, nor did I receive any prior communication about this. I will contact citizens advice and keep trying the number I was referred to.
  • London50
    London50 Posts: 1,850 Forumite
    I hope you can get through and get it sorted then :0)
  • elverson
    elverson Posts: 808 Forumite