Robo Investing - too good to be true?

I'm 30, a new dad, and hate my job/career. I'm a contractor and extremely well paid, to the point where a career change would represent a significant drop in salary.

I've been investigating ways of putting my income to good use, after I've paid off a couple of smallish debts by the end of the year. I've opened a Moneyfarm account to see how it works with a modest sum, and am getting the investor buzz.

However, it seems too good to be true. 20-28% returns depending on your risk profile, which by my calculations could replace my income after 10 or so years if I continue to deposit £250/month. Obviously there is the risk of a drop in the stock market, and ultimately I'd look to diversify with a P2P and second S&S ISA in my wife's name but.....

What am I missing? Surely those returns aren't consistently possible, and if it's that easy why does anyone invest themselves?

I may have got carried away after my first £1.24 in interest and drooling over the possibilities with the help of a compound interest calculator , but before I get carried away - what these robot investors are offering simply doesn't seem feasible, yet reviews I've read seem to support 20%+ returns...?!

What are your thoughts on these new boys? Would I be better off placing my money in P2P (Bond Mason).

Plan to save around £750/month in addition to overpaying mortgage and being otherwise debt free (except car payments, my one vice...!!)

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,044
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    robo Investing - too good to be true?

you mean a fudge between full advice and DIY?
    However, it seems too good to be true. 20-28% returns depending on your risk profile,

This is where no-advice from robo-advice fails. You are not going to get that on an annual basis.