PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

how do I roast pork???omg im dim!!lol

Hi, I would like to think I am a good cook as I can turn my hand to just about everything. HOWEVER...lol.... I cannot roast meat! I can roast a chicken but cannot cook a joint of meat for the life of me.

I have tried all manner of suggestions. I have put in a dry tin, I have covered it, I have put water in the tin, I have cooked slow.

I have two big chunks of pork shoulder which will be turned into roast pork sarnies tommorow(hopefully) Now I would like these to not be like chewing car tyres and need your help.

How do I do it? I have a gas oven and was planning on cooking it very low and slow. Do I cover tin?(I dont have foil so cannot do that tonight,,lol) Do I put water in tin?

Can I slow cook it??

It needs to be cooked for no later than half past 11 tommorow as I need to take it to the place its intended for. If I can slow cook it then I can take cookers with me and it can have until approx half 3pm.

I have no idea what im doing!! Why oh why didnt I stick to the good ol' reliable chilli??lol.
May £10 a day challenge
£19.61/£310
Ebay challenge...£12.61/£200

Comments

• tandraig
    tandraig Posts: 2,260 Forumite
    shoulder is a nice cut to cook slow in a low oven so i cant see why it shouldnt work in slow cooker - i dont have one myself, but suspect that to cook it overnight you would need some liquid! i am sure slow cooker owners would advise. suggest a little cider or apple juice.