HELP water bill..!!

Hi,

I am a student living in a two bedroom block of FLATS in sheffield.
We have no dishwasher, occasionally have baths, and do a reasonable amount of washing.

Our water bill (we have a meter) has come for the quarter. (1/9/04 to 31/12/04)

It is £100.07
We have apparently used 49 units of water.

Water Charged at 86.20p = £42.24
Standing Charge = £ 7.07

Sewearge at 89.30p = £41.57
Standing charge = £00.35

Surface water = £8.84

Are there any discounts i can get. i think this bill is extremely high.

Ross
Young homeowner...with a large mortgage

Comments

• derrick
    derrick Posts: 7,424 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    The dates you have given are for 4 months,we are not in December yet,so that seems like a lot of water for 3 months as we are still in November.
    Where is the meter situated? If it is outside you could be paying for other peoples water,if it is in your flat then you are either using the water or you have a leak and if you have a leak then it would be apparrent as there would be water damage somewhere,unless you are in a ground floor flat and the leaking water is going underground.
    Not sure about rebates,but if you are on benefits there might be some assistance.
    Don`t steal - the Government doesn`t like the competition

• cattie
    cattie Posts: 8,841 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    If you phone your water supplier & tell them how many people live in your household & give a summary of your water usage, they should be able to give you a reasonable estimate of how much your water charges should be on avergage each billing period.
    If you feel there is a big difference between this & what you are being billed, you can then ask them to check the meter.

Unfortunately there is no help available to pay water rates, even if you are on benefits or a low income.
    The bigger the bargain, the better I feel.