Investment Beginner

I am looking to start investing £50pm but as a complete beginner, I'm not sure where to start looking.
  • I contribute to a pension that my employer also contributes to.
  • I have an emergency savings fund that I can easily access if needed.
  • I have a medium-term savings goal that I am saving towards each month. Once I've reached it (hopefully by the end of 2014) I aim to invest a larger monthly contribution.
  • I have no debt.

Any advice/help/tips would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,399 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    You might like to buy/borrow from the library "Smarter Investing" by Tim Hale which is often recommended.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?p=64837484#post64837484 See post 4 and 5.
  • ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,044 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    smilerx - Well that was uncalled for. Looking at the OPs posting history she seems quite pleasant unlike your previous posts

Here at MSE we are asked to be nice to newbies but in your case I'll make an exception and have reported you for abuse. Let's hope it's the last we see of you
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,399 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    have reported you for abuse

Likewise - how very unfortunate it is that people have nothing better to do than be rude and sarcastic to those seeking information.
  • sophia1989 wrote: »
    I am looking to start investing £50pm but as a complete beginner, I'm not sure where to start looking.

I'm about to start investing with Nutmeg. They provide an ISA you can put £50pm in (£1000 minimum deposit, so might not suit) and they'll invest in various investment funds on your behalf. Reviews from others on this forum seem to see it as expensive (they charge 1% + fund fees) but for me as a beginner also it seems an easy place to get started.