Desperate for a clear answer

Options
Hello all,
I will get to the point. I am a self employed contractor and my company year end is August 31st. I am about to raise an invoice for the work I have done in August which will be paid in September. Crucially the invoice will be raised in SEPTEMBER (first week in new tax year)

My question is this - my accountant is telling me I will have to pay the tax on it in THIS tax year but this denies me the opportunity to divert any to my company SIPP in order to reduce the corporation tax bill for this year as I haven't physically received the money

My investment manager thinks this is nonsense and it should be taxed in the forthcoming tax year - when I called HMRC they lent towards agreeing without committing but then lost me ending up saying both I think !

I really need a clear answer please - what year would this money be taxed in. So ...

Work done in August
Invoice raised in September
Paid in September
Company year end Aug 31st

I will be so grateful for any help!

Thanks

Comments

• Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Your accountant is correct. Limited companies must declare the income in the year in which it is earned, and the date of invoice and date of payment are irrelevant.

Surely you have money left over in the company bank account to pay the tax and PAYE on earlier invoices raised/paid, in which case, there's nothing wrong in "borrowing" some of that tax money which isn't due for payment immediately. That's how most companies operate - using the tax monies as short term cash flow. You just have to be careful to control things and not lose track.
  • TheCyclingProgrammer
    TheCyclingProgrammer Posts: 3,702 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    edited 25 August 2017 at 4:34PM
    Options