Ciifinance can't find agreement

Hi I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right forum as I'm new to this so apologies if it's the wrong area.

My husband and I are on a DMP and the largest debt is to Hillesden Securities (Ctifinanciall Europe/Associates) for a loan my husband took out in 1989, before we met.. I have managed to track some letters and know that the amount due in 1999 (10 years after he took it out) was |£38319.67. The initial amount was apparently around £1500. We have been paying this through DLC since 1999 at various amounts and the loan currently stands at £21439.84.

To cut a long story short we have twice asked them for a copy of the original agreement (letters sent to Canada Square as I believe this is Citifinance Europe's address for these matter) as my husband says he was definitely told he had to take out ppi in order to be granted the loan in the first place. Both times, and the last letter was a "requesting all and any details letter" we have received a reply that they are unable to locate an account held in my husbands name. I have supplied them with two reference numbers from the statements/letters from dlc who list Hillesden Securities/Associates as the creditor name, the date of the agreement and the initial address my husband lived at, as well as subsequent addresses.

I just wondered if anyone could help us with any advice on what to do next.

DLC did send us a letter in Mar 1999 on behalf of their clients , Hillesden Sec LTd/Assigned from Associates, saying they would accept £5000 in full settlement but we couldn't afford that at that time.

I do not have all statements so am not sure how much we have paid over the years but at one point it was £300 per month, when we were financially better off.

Thank you for any help you can give us.

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,848 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Hi,