Had my lightbulb moment!

Options
scottishbrummy
scottishbrummy Posts: 49 Forumite
First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
edited 8 November 2017 at 10:20AM in Debt-free wannabe
So yesterday I had my lightbulb moment. I need desperately to get rid of my debt - my mortgage repayment and loan will both bounce tomorrow - I get paid on the 8th so will pay both then, as well as a £160 gas/electric bill which is well overdue.

It all started when I was a student, interest free overdraft (1800 - now maxed out) and too young and stupid to even contemplate paying it back. In September it will be 10 years since I got it, and since then I've added a credit card (1500 - also maxed out) and a loan (ironically to pay off the other two), which has 4200 left over 2 yrs 9 mnths.

I'm hoping with the support of this forum I will be rid of my debt soon enough. I earn 22,200 a year and after tax I get about 1350 every 4 weeks.

Wish me luck!! :beer:

Official MoneySavingExpert.com Insert:

scottishbrummy first started this diary back in March 2016. Have a read through the full discussion or click through to the second page to see how they're getting on!

[purplesignup][/purplesignup]
LBM - 30/3/16 - Someone save me from myself!!
Overdraft: 1800/1800 - Credit card: 1400/1450 - Loan: 1257/4500
Grand Total: 4457/7750

Comments

• yasmin2
    yasmin2 Posts: 319 Forumite
    Options
    You're in the right place for help and support.
    If you post up a SOA I am sure someone will come along and make suggestions as to where you can cut back:)

Good luck:D
    Debt outstanding [STRIKE]£3491.[/STRIKE] £3303
    NSD 10/15
  • scottishbrummy
    Options
    Thanks, I will do. Off to work now until 10pm so won't be home till 11pm :(
    Not taking card with me so not spending any money!
  • glentoran99
    glentoran99 Posts: 5,821 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post Debt-free and Proud!
    Options