Barclays student account - after you graduate?

Hi, I graduated in 2013 and I'm still on the Barclay's student additions account with an overdraft of up to £2000.

I've been wondering about this for a while. Are they not supposed to switch you over to the graduate account after you graduate, then reduce your overdraft year by year? I received no correspondence about this from them.

Thanks

Comments

• Anyone any ideas on this?

Currently I can't ring up Barclays so can't find out
  • agrinnall
    agrinnall Posts: 23,344 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    I don't know much about student accounts as they didn't really exist when I was an undergraduate, many years ago, but from what I see on here you wouldn't be the first person who has been left with their student account long after graduating. The banks seem to be a bit slapdash about identifying who should be switched to a graduate account and when it should happen. If it's advantageous to you to stay on the student account then I'd let sleeping dogs lie until Barclays bring it up.
  • I've still got my barclays student overdraft limit 13 years after graduating. I have kept it for just in case of emergency (but would pay 9.9% between £500 and £3000) I have got a graduate additions account (I don't know if they do this any more) with a £500 interest free overdraft. When I popped into my bank recently they told me if you have a normal Barclays Bank account they will only give you £200 max interest free overdraft!

After I graduated they did reduce the interest free bit of my overdraft gradually over 2 years I think.

I would wait for them to contact you!
  • Anyone else have any experience of keeping a graduate account long after graduating? I cannot find a definitive answer on how long you are able to keep this type of account?
  • Dobbibill
    Dobbibill Posts: 4,135 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper First Post
    edited 5 March 2017 at 1:33PM