IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post
Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com
-
All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email
Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes
www.sellittous.co.uk - anyone heard of them?
02-10-2012, 3:13 PM
|
Serious MoneySaving Fan 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,370
Thanked 4,626 Times in 1,094 Posts
|
www.sellittous.co.uk - anyone heard of them?
I've got my car on Gumtree (for about 5 days now) and I received a text today asking if I've sold it yet and if not, visit this website and they'll give me a valuation and make an offer. I've already been contacted by a 'potential' buyer who turned out to be a scammer and I don't want to risk giving these people my contact details.
Anyone heard of them? Are they an alright company? I googled but nothing came up other than their website.
£32k of debt. Entered PTD 21/12/2011. 1 year and 7 months to DFD and 19 payments to go! Lose versus loose. You lose weight - your clothes are loose. Dead easy isn't it? No more 'loosing' weight, people. Please. Ooops! GC Mar £527.35/£375 
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 3:15 PM
|
MoneySaving Stalwart 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 576
Thanked 177 Times in 156 Posts
|
Wait for a real buyer with real money to come along.
If they are real, they would be phoning you rather than engaging in a long winded email scam or trying to buy it off you for half the price.
|
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to Foxy-Stoat For This Useful Post:
Show me >>
|
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 3:58 PM
|
Serious MoneySaving Fan 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,370
Thanked 4,626 Times in 1,094 Posts
|
thanks Foxy. I've just had another text from www.cashyourcar.co.uk! I am quite desperate to sell but perhaps not this desperate!
£32k of debt. Entered PTD 21/12/2011. 1 year and 7 months to DFD and 19 payments to go! Lose versus loose. You lose weight - your clothes are loose. Dead easy isn't it? No more 'loosing' weight, people. Please. Ooops! GC Mar £527.35/£375 
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 4:06 PM
|
MoneySaving Stalwart 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 576
Thanked 177 Times in 156 Posts
|
Just ignore the texts!
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 4:37 PM
|
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: God's county of Worcestershire.
Posts: 2,391
Thanked 1,947 Times in 984 Posts
|
From the cashyourcar website:
It has come to our attention that users are being sent a text message for a valuation on their car(s) stating that we www.cashyourcar.co.uk[/url]) have provided a quote. Please note that this is NOT us - someone has used our web address in these spam text messages for an unknown reason.
Normal services will resume once we look into this matter further.
I used to be a Conservative, but I'm better now.
|
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to poppasmurf_bewdley For This Useful Post:
Show me >>
|
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 4:49 PM
|
Serious MoneySaving Fan 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,370
Thanked 4,626 Times in 1,094 Posts
|
Interesting poppasmurf - I should always go with my instincts then.
Thanks for the advice!
£32k of debt. Entered PTD 21/12/2011. 1 year and 7 months to DFD and 19 payments to go! Lose versus loose. You lose weight - your clothes are loose. Dead easy isn't it? No more 'loosing' weight, people. Please. Ooops! GC Mar £527.35/£375 
|
|
|
02-10-2012, 8:31 PM
|
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,788
Thanked 3,853 Times in 3,099 Posts
|
If your desperate, Call the scrapman or take it to the local car dealer and sell it to him.
At least he wont charge you a fee to come and look at it. Or say ive got a buyer for that give me £60 and i will pass your details onto him.
What he didnt call. He must have bought one or changed his mind.
Want your £60 back. Keep dreaming.
Punctuation, Spelling and Grammar will be used sparingly. Due to rising costs of inflation.
My contribution to MSE. Other contributions will only be used if they cost me nothing.
Due to me being a tight git.
|
|
|
19-03-2013, 4:11 PM
|
MoneySaving Convert 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Thanked 25 Times in 9 Posts
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Long time Motor Trader
Sellittous.co.uk is not a scam site, it does exactly what it says it will do, you enter your vehicles details and they will make you an offer on your vehicle.
They work with the largest dealer groups in the UK to get you an offer, but it will be a trade offer and sometimes that may not be the amount you are looking for.
However it is a straight forward transaction that will get your car sold quickly with a minimum amount of fuss.
|
Wonder who you work for??
|
|
|
|
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to unclehugo For This Useful Post:
Show me >>
|
|
|
|
19-03-2013, 4:46 PM
|
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,860
Thanked 7,092 Times in 2,807 Posts
|
"Only two things are infinite-the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not so sure about the universe"
Albert Einstein
|
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to worried jim For This Useful Post:
Show me >>
|
|
|
|
19-03-2013, 5:03 PM
|
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,788
Thanked 3,853 Times in 3,099 Posts
|
Not a scam? Not registered to a business. Private individual ??
No company address on the website which is a legal requirement.
Where are your companies contact details?
Punctuation, Spelling and Grammar will be used sparingly. Due to rising costs of inflation.
My contribution to MSE. Other contributions will only be used if they cost me nothing.
Due to me being a tight git.
|
|
|
19-03-2013, 5:18 PM
|
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,827
Thanked 11,844 Times in 5,803 Posts
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Long time Motor Trader
Sellittous.co.uk is not a scam site, it does exactly what it says it will do, you enter your vehicles details and they will make you an offer on your vehicle.
They work with the largest dealer groups in the UK to get you an offer, but it will be a trade offer and sometimes that may not be the amount you are looking for.
However it is a straight forward transaction that will get your car sold quickly with a minimum amount of fuss.
|
Fact is, you seem to have sent someone an unsolicited marketing text message for a service they had not enquired about and had not given you permission to contact them.
Now you're promoting it on here without the permission of the site owners.
|
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to redux For This Useful Post:
Show me >>
|
|
|
|
20-03-2013, 12:58 PM
|
MoneySaving Stalwart 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 291
Thanked 233 Times in 126 Posts
|
|
|
|
20-03-2013, 2:03 PM
|
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,420
Thanked 1,468 Times in 1,094 Posts
|
http://www.nominet.org.uk/whois/look...llittous.co.uk
registered to a private individual, not a company.
No or trader company details at all on the website.
Who are you going to contact when it goes wrong?
We need the earth for food, water, and shelter.
The earth needs us for nothing.
The earth does not belong to us.
We belong to the Earth.
|
|
|
 |
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:26 AM.
|
Free MoneySaving Email
Top deals:
Week of 19 June 2013
Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals
GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL
Full of deals, guides & it's spam free
Last 15 mins
Popular Now:
Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.
Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.
- £100 buys:
- Best
- Worst
- Euro
- 116.65
- 106.86
- Dollar
- 155.65
- 142.45
- Lira
- 285.00
- 260.73
|