PDA

View Full Version : Completely free online backup service


certificateman
14-04-2006, 12:41 AM
I've been getting numerous benefits from this forum for a while, so I think it's time I contributed...

For a number of months, I've been using a free online backup service called Mozy. In a nutshell, you need to sign up for a free account, and download a little application. Once you've set it up (and it's a doddle), your PC will automatically backup your specified data to the Mozy servers (it's encrypted) over the internet. To restore, you log into your account on their website and set up your restore. You get 2GB for free, and sometimes you get to earn more by providing feedback, or referring others to the service.

I work in IT, and credit to Mozy, they've done a great job of this, and it's a superb service for absolutely no cost at all. It could save your valuable data from disaster (after all, we all need to backup more than we do). Other companies charge a considerable amount for a comparible service.

What's the catch? When you sign up, you agree to receive occasional adverts by email in return for use of the facility (though recently there's also a very cheap paid option). I signed up using a dedicated email address and so far I've received nothing other than messages relating to the service.

So, to give it a try, please use the following link: https://mozy.com (https://mozy.com/ref/FJR5NF)
(Including the 6 digit code at the end, means I get a bit more free space for every 4 people that sign up. I'd be grateful if you'd leave that in if you sign up, but it's entirely up to you.)

I hope you find it as handy as I have.

Richard

electron
14-04-2006, 12:45 AM
So, to give it a try, please use the following link: https://mozy.com/ref/FJR5NF
(Including the 6 digit code at the end, means I get a bit more free space for every 4 people that sign up. I'd be grateful if you'd leave that in if you sign up, but it's entirely up to you.)

I hope you find it as handy as I have.

Richard

Sounds Ok but is that a reffereal link, as I dont think they allow them here. :beer:

This is ok though https://mozy.com/

hawkwinddotcom
14-04-2006, 12:50 AM
referral link has been reported

certificateman
14-04-2006, 1:29 AM
Sorry folks. As my first post, I didn't realise that such a link was a no-no. I was open about it and explained the referral bit, giving people the option to use it or not so I thought that would be OK. If it isn't, please could someone give me removal instructions and I'll correct it.

Richard

*!*HIBS*!*
14-04-2006, 3:01 AM
Sorry folks. As my first post, I didn't realise that such a link was a no-no. I was open about it and explained the referral bit, giving people the option to use it or not so I thought that would be OK. If it isn't, please could someone give me removal instructions and I'll correct it.

RichardWelcome to MSE. Just edit your original post and it will be ok. :)