PDA

View Full Version : webuyanycar.co.uk - any feedback?


Doublespresso
03-11-2008, 11:01 PM
any feedback from people here who used this site?

They quoted a "so so" price online, but I fear that if/when I make the appointment to complete the transaction they will find any excuse to knock the price down further.

hewhoisnotintheknow
03-11-2008, 11:22 PM
do a search, most people report them as little !!!!!!s

CHR15
03-11-2008, 11:38 PM
but I fear that if/when I make the appointment to complete the transaction they will find any excuse to knock the price down further.

I've read similar stories about them. To get the quoted price your car would have to be in showroom condition, brand new tyres, brand new brakes, brand new exhaust etc etc.

sportage1kia
03-11-2008, 11:55 PM
Hi there
If you look at my other post I have also tried to find people who have used this car website amongst others, but at present they appear to give you a price then knock you down when you take the car in, but you are under no obligation. Good luck
Regards

Doublespresso
04-11-2008, 12:22 AM
Thanks, I searched other threads in here and it looks like my fears have been confirmed.
I wouldn't have minded trying them out, but what annoys me is that they seem to play the time game, i.e. prolonging the process hoping you'll give in.

albionrovers
04-11-2008, 8:03 AM
They offered me £810 online.

I got £750, was happy with that. Whole process took 5 mins.

My car had heaps wrong with it but bodywork was shiny and it started 1st time.

oldagetraveller
04-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Daughter and SIL tried them with a 6 yr old C5 Diesel estate. Their quoted initial price was acceptable, slightly more than trade in. However, after listing every, as they thought, little defect on the car, the webuy rep "found" all sorts of other faults, even a slight mark on the driver's seat base covering not visible without lying upside down in the front footwell! After his inspection the original offer dropped by about £300 so they told him to get lost and sold the car privately.
They only went the webuy route to avaoid the hassle of advertising, viewings by prospective buyers etc.
So if you're not prepared for a lot less than expectation then don't go there. If you think all defects, including v. minor cosmetic ones have been listed for the original quote then you'll be sadly disappointed. They'll find something wrong to decrease their offer.

TiTheRev
04-11-2008, 1:04 PM
One word... Bargepole!

david69
08-11-2008, 5:39 PM
another word tit

sheslookinhot
09-11-2008, 7:00 PM
Think about the service they offer. They buy the car cheap and sell at a small profit. Why would they give you what the value of the car is, whatever that may be. They are a business after all

Doublespresso
10-11-2008, 7:15 AM
Think about the service they offer. They buy the car cheap and sell at a small profit. Why would they give you what the value of the car is, whatever that may be. They are a business after all

Thanks for your contribution... and for stating the obvious :rolleyes:
but this is not really the topic of the thread

Vestra
11-11-2008, 9:48 AM
But if they are valuing me car at £3000 online and the dealer I am buying a car at is offering me £2000 part exchange, surely they won't find £1000 worth of defects?

TiTheRev
11-11-2008, 9:55 AM
It's been said before that they will! Scuffs, scratches, chips in the widscreen, poor wipers...they will pick up every fault and lower the price accordingly. A previous post about this company offered about £2000 on line, they came out to inspect it and only got offered about £800 in the end! :shocked:

another word tit

Was there any need for that? :confused:

123oleary
11-11-2008, 6:20 PM
i posted a similar thread last week. i went ahead and used them and was pretty happy with the result. i'm just waiting for the money to clear tomorrow. their offer was only slightly lower than their online valuation. if your happy with their online valuation i'd say go ahead and try them - you can always walk away if their offer is lower and you would only have wasted a day or two.

sportage1kia
12-11-2008, 11:51 PM
Hi there
I tried another online valulation car website Bestcarbuyer.co.uk and recieved a quote for a 6 year old car £600-£800, but next day received an e-mail from them stating that the car was not in their purchasing criteria, so could not make me an offer.
Regards